Frieze New York 2019
02 may.— 5 may. 2019
02
may.—
5
may.
2019

FRIEZE NEW YORK
May 2 – May 5, 2019
Randall’s Island Park, New York

FRAME – Booth F9

JANE CORRIGAN

For its first participation to Frieze New York, Galerie Antoine Ertaskiran is proud to present recent works by New York based artist Jane Corrigan.

Jane Corrigan’s paintings depict scenes drawn from her imagination. With multiple references to art history and popular culture – in particular the narrative forms of cinema and novel –, they suggest an impressionist kind of comic book. Her timeless works, always located in times and places that are difficult to fully determine, give her art a universal value.

Corrigan’s vibrant female portraits explore interiority by way of self-referential allegories and parodies. The artist first encounters her subjects, and familiarized with them, through numerous drawings. Within these studies, she discovers her characters for the works on canvas. She describes this process, executed in a wet-into-wet method, as chasing her subjects down through brush marks. Corrigan’s focus on solitary women and narrative came out of a desire to tease out a particular kind of female subjectivity.

Jane Corrigan (b. 1980 Shawville, Canada) studied fine arts at the Nova Scotia College of Art and Design (BFA 2003), attended Yale Norfolk Summer School of Art (2002), and completed graduate studies at SUNY Purchase (MFA 2009). She had solo exhibitions at White Columns, Kerry Schuss, Retrospective, Feuer/Mesler, and Marinaro (New York). Group shows include: Sikkema Jenkins, New York; Wilkinson Gallery, London; Karma, New York; and Oakville Galleries, Canada, among others. She was a recipient of the Louis Comfort Tiffany Award in 2013, and has been granted residencies at the Fine Arts Work Center in Provincetown and at the Marie Walsh Sharpe Space Program in Brooklyn, New York. Her work has been written about in various publications including the New York Times, Hyperallergic, Artforum, Art in America, ArtNews and the Brooklyn Rail.

For further information, please contact Antoine Ertaskiran or Anne Roger:info@antoineertaskiran.com or +1 (514) 989-7886.

To read The New York Times’ review, click here.
To read Artspace’s review, click here.

Frieze New York 2019
02 mai.— 5 mai. 2019
02
mai.—
5
mai.
2019

FRIEZE NEW YORK
2 au 5 mai 2019
Randall’s Island Park, New York

FRAME – Kiosque F9

JANE CORRIGAN

Pour sa première participation à Frieze New York, la Galerie Antoine Ertaskiran est fière de présenter des œuvres récentes de l’artiste new-yorkaise Jane Corrigan.

Les tableaux de Jane Corrigan dépeignent des scènes issues de son imagination. Ils font référence à l’histoire de l’art et à la culture populaire, plus particulièrement aux formes narratives du cinéma et du roman, suggérant une sorte d’impressionnisme de la bande dessinée. Les œuvres intemporelles de Jane Corrigan, toujours situées à des époques et lieux difficiles à déterminer, confèrent à son travail une valeur universelle.

Les portraits de femmes et de jeunes filles imaginés par Corrigan explorent le subconscient par le truchement d’allégories autoréférentielles et de parodies. L’artiste apprend d’abord à connaître ses sujets par le biais d’études à l’huile exécutées selon la technique du « au premier coup ». Elle décrit ce processus comme une quête de ceux-ci grâce au tracé de son pinceau. C’est dans ces études et dessins qu’elle découvre ses personnages qui se retrouveront dans ses œuvres sur toile. L’accent mis par Corrigan sur la narration et la représentation de femmes solitaires naît d’un désir de mettre en lumière un type singulier de féminité.

Jane Corrigan (née en 1980 à Shawville, Canada) a étudié les beaux-arts au Nova Scotia College of Art and Design (BFA 2003), à la Yale Norfolk Summer School of Art (2002) et au SUNY Purchase (MFA 2009). Parmi les expositions personnelles de Jane Corrigan, notons les galeries new-yorkaises White Columns, Kerry Schuss, Retrospective, Feuer/Mesler et Marinaro. Son travail a également été présenté lors d’expositions collectives au Sikkema Jenkins (New York), à la Wilkinson Gallery (Londres), au Karma (New York) et aux Oakville Galleries (Oakville, Ontario). Elle est lauréate du prix Louis Comfort Tiffany (2013) et a effectué des résidences au Fine Arts Work Center de Provincetown et au Marie Walsh Sharpe Space Program à Brooklyn, New York. Son travail a fait l’objet d’articles dans de nombreuses publications, dont le New York Times, Hyperallergic, Artforum, Art in America, ArtNews et le Brooklyn Rail.

Pour toute demande d’information, merci de contacter Antoine Ertaskiran ou Anne Roger : info@antoineertaskiran.com ou +1-514-989-7886.

Pour lire le compte-rendu du New York Times, cliquez ici.
Pour lire le compte-rendu d’Artspace, cliquez ici.